2016 · Introduction · Q&A

New Beginnings!(2)

I asked my followers on bookstagram and twitter to send me some questions for this post and here are the results!

tumblr_inline_ntlnlrSj0B1tnv24g_540

  1. Favorite Authors?

I have plenty and most of them are fabulous women who write YA.

In no particular order whatsoever, I can name at least five:

  • Marie Lu – I love her writing style so much, it’s so fast-paced and easy to get immersed in.  She never hesitates to write PoC characters in her stories, which I also appreciate very much.  She’s so interactive with her fans an other authors on twitter, I love seeing her tweets and her enthusiasm online!
  • Laini Taylor – her prose is so magical and beautiful.  Her Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy broke my heart; it’s on my top 5 favorites.  I’ll be sure to pick up a copy of her next book, Strange the Dreamer, as soon as it comes out.
  • Leigh Bardugo – one of the YA queens! Six of Crows is one of the most brilliantly written books I’ve ever read.  Her fantastical worlds are so easy to fall in love with and I can’t wait for Crooked Kingdom to come out!  She’s also very interactive with her fans and her tumblr page is a gem.
  • Rick Riordan – I’ve been reading his books since I was in sixth grade.  Percy Jackson is a big part of my experience as a reader and I love how dedicated he is to his characters.  He always makes way for diversity in his characters, may it be sexual or ethnic, and I appreciate that more than he knows.  He’s also a huge troll with his fans and I can’t help but laugh (and scream occasionally) when he leaves us hanging.
  • Rainbow Rowell – the dialogue queen! Rainbow has some of the best contemporary novels out there.  Her stories are always relatable and quirky and sososo funny.  She’s also a big supporter of fanfiction writers and YA lit, making her a huge inspiration to all her fans.

tumblr_inline_nl4ergPXhh1t78dpp

  1. If you could be friends with one fictional character, who would it be?

I think, out of all my choices, I’d love to be friends with Percy Jackson.  Even if trouble does follow him like the plague, it would be SO MUCH FUN to be part of his adventures.  Plus he’s super loyal and funny; I feel like being his friend would be a non-stop adventure.

tumblr_inline_nl4ergPXhh1t78dpp

  1. Favorite fictional worlds?

There are so many but some of my recent favorites is the Grisha universe featured in Leigh Bardugo’s trilogy and duology.  I also love the Victoria Schwab’s Londons in her Shades of Magic trilogy.  Sarah J. Maas has created a fantastic realm with the courts; Velaris blew me away in A Court of Mist and Fury.

Cassie Clare’s Shadowhunter world is also one of my all time favorites.  I love how effortlessly she can connect both the real world and Idris.

Hogwarts will forever be my home sweet home.

tumblr_inline_nl4ergPXhh1t78dpp

  1. Fictional boyfriend/girlfriend?

Oh boy, there are a lot of these.  I’ll just divide them into two lists so I can make it easier.

Boyfriends:

  • Jem Carstairs (TID)
  • Cassian (ACoMaF)
  • Chaol Westfall (ToG)
  • Noah Czerny (TRC)
  • Cameron Hamilton (Wait for You)
  • Day (Legend trilogy)
  • Magiano (TYE)

and others…

Girlfriends:

  • Lila Bard (ADSoM)
  • Luna Lovegood (HP)
  • Blue Sargent (TRC)
  • Emma Carstairs (TDA)
  • Nina Zenik (SoC)
  • Penryn Young (Penryn and the End of Days)
  • Zuzana (DoSaB)

and others…

tumblr_inline_nl4ergPXhh1t78dpp

  1. Fave genre?

Fantasy has become my favorite genre.  I love contemporary though.  I used to hate it when I was younger but lately it’s been a source of good vibes and feels.

tumblr_inline_nl4ergPXhh1t78dpp

  1. Fave color?

My favorite color is red! All shades of it!

tumblr_inline_nl4ergPXhh1t78dpp

  1. Why do you love reading?

I love how much you can learn from books, about life and death and love.  I feel like reading has made into a more complete person, answering personal doubts and helping me understand people and tough situations that happen day to day.

Reading has also become like a safety blanket for me.  I suffer from anxiety and stress and reading has helped me cope and get through particularly stressful situations.  I can’t thank books enough for what they’ve done for me.

tumblr_inline_nl4ergPXhh1t78dpp

  1. Which book is your favorite and why?

It changes with time but at the moment it has to be I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson.  That book affected me in ways I still can’t comprehend.  The prose is beautiful and the plot grips unto your soul.  It made me laugh, cry and break all at the same time.  Can’t wait to see what Jandy will give us next!

tumblr_inline_nl4ergPXhh1t78dpp

  1. Why do you like blogging?

I blogged for a bit not too long ago and I loved being able to express myself so freely about topics I feel so passionate about.  The way you connect with people and forge friendships through something as simple as books is wonderful.

tumblr_inline_nl4ergPXhh1t78dpp

  1. What would you do to make the book community a better place?

I don’t consider myself an exceptional person.  I have opinions and passions just like everybody else.  Through blogging I hope to open people’s eyes to different issues and topics.  I want to give exposure to good books and people in our community, with respect and honesty.   I want my words to maybe resonate with others and be there for those who need support.  Most of all, I hope to be a positive influence in friends and readers everywhere.

tumblr_inline_ntlnlrSj0B1tnv24g_540

Thank you for all your questions!  Feel free to contact me for any additional inquiries!

  Camila(1)

Leave a Reply

