2016 · Reading Progress · Recap · summer

New Beginnings!(3)

daily

Yesterday was what I call a busy day.  My little cousins had to get their braces so my aunt decided she would wake me up, nice and early, and leave me at the library to wait for a few hours.  I wasn’t planning on checking out anything but we all know I have no self control when it comes to books.  The libraries here are super nice; the YA sections are big and have a wide variety of books to choose from.  To say I’m in love would be an understatement  ♡

During the afternoon, we went to a little used book store/thrift shop; Half Priced Books.

 

bh

Like I said, I have no self control so once I saw some books that I’ve been dying to read for so long, I decided to go ahead and check them out!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
here is my library haul! (sci-fi and fantasy have taken over my life!)

At Half Priced Books, I found a lightly used copy of A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness and I simply could not resist getting it.  I also received some book mail yesterday night, our book club read of the month: Summer Days and Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

cr

cr2.jpg

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

  • I personally think this is the strongest book in the Throne of Glass series, in terms of plot and action.  The multiple perspectives speed up the process instead of hindering it and we see a LOT of character development in all the main characters.
  • My main problem with the book was the pairings.  My ships keep being avoided because SJM refuses to write LGBTAQ+ characters and I’d like to say  I’m over it but it annoyed me so much while reading; I had to take constant breaks.
  • I loved meeting new characters (except for Nesryn because her existence has no meaning when it comes to the plot) and revisiting the old ones.
  • I actually finished the book in the early hours of the morning (1am) and I’m anxiously waiting for Empire of Storms to come out!

The Archived by Victoria Schwab

  • Honestly, Schwab can do no wrong. Her books are like crack to me; I want all of them and I want them now! I’m so glad I found that copy of Vicious at the library.
  • The story is wicked cool and bizarre but it’s also surprisingly melancholic and sad.  It gets suspenseful a times and even a bit creepy. In a good way of course.
  • I really love Wesley, I think he’s the kind of happy go lucky male lead we rarely get to enjoy.
  • The world is fascinating and well built, without being overly descriptive.  We get to know a lot about it through bits and pieces, which I enjoy immensely.  The constant game with time and space, past and present is new and keeps the reader on their toes.  I can’t wait to see how it all wraps up!

cw

If you guys didn’t know, I don’t like watching tv series.  I am the pickiest person when it comes to acting and plot and it’s hard for me to find something that truly captivates me.  For that same reason, everything I watch is either animated or a movie or both.  I love the care that goes into the production, I feel it’s way more genuine than fan service.

It has been way to long since I started something new.  School had me beyond busy but I recently binged a new anime!

It’s called Boku no Hero Academia or My Hero Academia and it’s what the Japanese call a shounen anime or an anime designated for boys.

(you can watch it here!)

poster-boku-no-hero-academia

Izuku has dreamt of being a hero all his life—a lofty goal for anyone, but especially challenging for a kid with no superpowers. That’s right, in a world where 80% of the population has some kind of superpowered “quirk,” Izuku was unlucky enough to be born completely normal. But that’s not going to stop him from enrolling in one of the world’s most prestigious hero academies. Now, the only thing standing between him and his first class is the academy’s formidable entrance exam—nothing a little private tutoring from the world’s mightiest hero can’t solve. (source: funimation)

From the first episode I was hooked. The animation is colorful and bright and the characters are sososo lovable. Deku, or Izuku, is the cutest little cinnamon roll that ever lived.  You can’t help but root for him the entire time you’re watching it.  There are only two episode left in the season and I’m not sure when they air but I’m pumped to see how it all ends!


That is all for now, until next time loves!

tumblr_o39j6uUH7P1rveihgo1_500
this is Deku, isn’t he precious?

Camila(1)

 

Leave a Reply

