2016 · Reading Progress · Review

New Beginnings!(9)

Three different books, three different impacts.

Dramatic enough for you? Yes? No?  Alright, let’s get down to business.

tumblr_inline_ntlnljAFYP1tnv24g_500.gif

the gr8

3817859

Series: Théâtre Illuminata #1

Rating: 4.5/5

I went into this with not knowing what it was about (how I prefer going into books tbh) and I was pleasantly surprised!  Based on the cover, I thought this would be middle grade fantasy.  I expected cheesy dialogue and scenarios.  Instead I got this solid YA novel, filled with whimsical characters and one of the most unique settings I’ve ever read.

This book is for theater lovers for sure.  I love plays and musicals so this fit like a silk glove.

The characters really stole the show for me.  I loved their personalities, so vibrant and whimsy; I loved their appearances, truly magical.  Bertie was just lovable, through and through.  he smoked, she danced, she drank and she had tons of fun.  Her fairy companions were witty without being annoying and plenty of fun.  The love interests were swoon-worthy and maybe a bit rakish (both of them, oh lord).

Even the love triangle doesn’t bother me! Mostly because this story is about Bertie.  The romance is not over-bearing and sappy and for a pirate and a wind-spirit; they’re both pretty authentic and real about their feelings.  Also, Bertie IS that lovely, it’s not hard to see why people would fall over themselves for her love.

I docked half a star just for the randomness of the events.  It felt a bit messy at times but it was refreshing for the most part.  Can’t wait to read the sequel!

tumblr_inline_ntlnljAFYP1tnv24g_500

just ok

25614492

Goodreads Summary

Rating: 3.5/5

Hype can make or break a book. Unfortunately, in this case, it kind of led to disappointment. I’ve read some amazing things regarding this book and I really expected to be blown away.

While the plot is emotional and the setting is meant to evoke despair, I just felt so disconnected with the characters and what they were supposed to portray. All the different perspectives confused me and I felt like some of them were just not genuine enough.  I would have loved longer chapters instead of the quick fire change of perspectives.  The ending left me confused and wanting a bit more. frankly, I think it was the worst part of the entire novel; it felt sloppy and anticlimactic.

Also, I felt forced to feel bad for them which just took some of my attention off the story itself.  Writing about this time period and this event in particular is hard enough; you take the risk of speaking over the voices of the survivors and facing the inevitable criticism of wanting to use such a tragic event as a tear-jerking plot device.

What I do appreciate the historical accuracy and the amount of research this author put into the making of this story.  The novel itself was quick and easy to read, maybe a bit too easy considering the plot.

tumblr_inline_ntlnljAFYP1tnv24g_500

mediocre

13445306

Goodreads summary

Rating: DNF

I only read about fifty pages of this one before I gave up.  The plot sounded interesting but everything just fell flat.  The characters where so generic considering who they were supposed to be and the dialogue was weak.

The romance felt so forced, I caught myself rolling my eyes every time they talked  or thought about each other.

I feel like this is more suited for younger readers.

Camila(1)

Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them? If not, did my review help in any way? I’d love to know your thoughts!

tumblr_n8v11alwjH1s7ljw8o1_250

8 thoughts on “

  1. Funny enough I think I’ve either a. read the book b. owned the book or c. both. I really liked Salt to the Sea, where it didn’t leave me gushing like some other books–I felt connected to the characters, though I knew people were going to have trouble with the rapidly changing perspectives. It’s definitely a specific style of writing haha. I remember buying Let the Sky Fall when it debuted, but I also got bored of it :c

    Like

  2. Hi! This was a really cool post. I was SO HAPPY to see Eyes Like Stars in it! I haven’t met many bloggers who’ve read it. It’s one of my favorite books and the writing comes to life so easily. The second and third books are just as magical as the first 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

